Changing the head unit. Question

General FTO discussion only

Moderator: Moderators

Changing the head unit. Question

Postby mcgon1979 » Mon Nov 02, 2015 10:41 pm

I've finally got fed up burning cds and have bought a pioneer USB mp3 unit.
My question is, what are the basic steps required to swap it out. I currently have a single din mitsi 6 CD changer setup.
Do i need to remove the gearbox surround first etc?
Is the wiring adapter that came with the new pioneer likely to be a plug and play job or will splicing of wires be required?
Thanks guys
Ma olen kaine!
User avatar
mcgon1979
Fight The Octopus!
Fight The Octopus!
 
Posts: 1511
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:39 pm
Location: Dublin

Re: Changing the head unit. Question

Postby gazmcg89 » Tue Nov 03, 2015 2:59 pm

Remove ashtray and that section of the dash pulls away it's on push in clips just be sure to undo cables when you have enough room to get at them cig lighter and that then you should see the mounting screws for the head unit . Usually mitsis are plug and play with aftermarket head unit harnesses unless someone spliced before you for some reason
gazmcg89
Octane king
Octane king
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 6:27 pm

Re: Changing the head unit. Question

Postby mcgon1979 » Tue Nov 03, 2015 3:25 pm

Thanks Gaz. Any idea what I can screw the earth/ground wire to? I'll give it go later anway.
Ma olen kaine!
User avatar
mcgon1979
Fight The Octopus!
Fight The Octopus!
 
Posts: 1511
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:39 pm
Location: Dublin

Re: Changing the head unit. Question

Postby gazmcg89 » Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:47 pm

There's plenty of places on the dash mounting frame you will see when you pull it out :)
gazmcg89
Octane king
Octane king
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 6:27 pm


Return to General FTO Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron